Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Rihanna, Grace Jones, Monty Alexander among those to be honoured by the UWI

Barbadian international singing sensation Rihanna, Jamaican Jazz musician Monty Alexander, actress Grace Jones, Cricketers  Michael Holding and Shivnarine Chanderpaul  are among a number of prominent Caribbean entertainers, legal luminaries, sportsmen, academics and business persons set to receive top accolades from the University of the West Indies campuses across the Region.

The University of the West Indies has announced that the Grammy-award winning star would be awarded an Honorary Doctors of Letters at this year’s graduation ceremonies.

A notice issued by the UWI Open Campus said Robyn Rihanna Fenty would receive the award along with newly installed President of the Caribbean Court of Justice Adrian Daudley Saunders who will be awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws and Professor Ebenezer Qudru Owusu, an Honorary Doctor of Science.

The ceremony is scheduled for October 20 at the Cave Hill Campus.

Meanwhile, the UWI will also confer honorary degrees to outstanding former West Indies cricketers Michael Holding, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Kenneth Benjamin.

Former Bahamian Prime Minister Hubert Ingraham and Jamaican actress, singer and supermodel Grace B. Jones are also among the honorary graduands.

Below is the full list of UWI 2018 Honorary Graduands


The Honourable Dame Janice Mesadis Pereira:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Larry Quinlan:- Honorary Doctor of Laws


The Honourable Justice Adrian Dudley Saunders:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Professor Ebenezer Oduru Owusu:- Honorary Doctor of Science
Miss Robyn Rihanna Fenty:- Honorary Doctor of Letters


Paula Lucie-Smith:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
The Right Honourable Hubert Ingraham:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Shivnarine Chanderpaul:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Winston A. Bailey, OBE (Mighty Shadow):- Honorary Doctor of Letters
Professor Dermott Kelleher:- Honorary Doctor of Science


Michael Anthony Holding:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
The Honourable Kenneth S. Benjamin:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Donette St. M. Chin-Loy Chang:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
H. Carl McCall:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Professor Shirley J. Thompson:- Honorary Doctor of Letters
Karl E. Wellington:- Honorary Doctor of Science
Lloyd A. Williams:- Honorary Doctor of Laws
Montgomery Bernard “Monty” Alexander:- Honorary Doctor of Letters
Grace B. Jones:- Honorary Doctor of Letters

The ceremonies are scheduled for October 13 at the Open Campus; October 20 at the Cave Hill Campus; October 25-27 at the St. Augustine Campus, and November 2-3 at the Mona Campus.

  • Countries: Caribbean

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.