Gaston Browne Gets 3rd Term as ABLP secures victory in 2023 general elections

Gaston Browne Gets 3rd Term as ABLP secures victory in 2023 general elections

ST. JOHN’S  Antigua, January 19, 2023 - The Gaston Browne led Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party, ABLP has won the January 18, 2023 general election.

The ABLP won 9 out of the 17 seats in the parliament while the main opposition, the United Progressive Party, UPP, won six seats and the Barbuda People’s Movement won 1 seat.

ABLP leader and prime minister Gaston Browne, comfortably  retained his seat from his constituency – St John’s City West while his wife, Maria Browne, who was contesting the general elections for the first time, was the declared winner in St. John’s Rural East with 1770 votes over her opponent, Ivor Bird of the  UPP, who got 1460 votes.

The controversial independent candidate Asot Michael comfortably won his St. Peter seat by a wide margin. However, UPP leader Lovell lost his contested City East seat by six votes (785) for the second time to the ABLP’s  Melford Nicholas who got 791 votes.

According to the figures shared by the Antigua and Barbuda Electoral Commission (ABEC), PM Browne won his election with 1,295 votes,  to become the prime minister for a third consecutive time.

His opponent from the United Progressive Party (UPP) Allister Lincoln Thomas, received 621 votes.

Robin Yearwood, from ABLP, was declared the winner for the St. Philip North Constituency. Yearwood won 708 votes, his opponent from UPP Browne received 615 votes, while seven (7) ballots were rejected.

Steadroy “Cutie” Benjamin, from ABLP, was declared the winner in St. John’s City South. Benjamin secured 889 votes, and his opponents, Defreitas and Timothy, got 495 and 11 votes, respectively. The number of rejected ballots was 6.



Author’s Posts