Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

CAYMAN | Wayne Panton elected new premier Cayman Islands

  • Written by wiredja.com news team
  • Published in Politics
Featured PNew Cayman Premier, Wasyne Panton at his swearing ceremony on Wednesday PNew Cayman Premier, Wasyne Panton at his swearing ceremony on Wednesday
GRAND CAYMAN, Cayman Islands April 21, 2021 -  The Cayman Islands now has a new government headed by the PACT led Wayne Panton, who has commanded the confidence of ten Members of Parliament elect who pledge to support him as Premier.

mckeeva bush 350McKeeva Bush will act as Speaker of the House.The Panton led PACT team were sworn in this afternoon at a specual session of Parliament called by the Governor Martyn Roper to swear in the new government.

Panton announced Monday that he had put together a deal that would see McKeeva Bush return to the Speaker’s chair to side with his alliance of nine independent legislators to help him form a government.

Governor Martyn Roper in a statement Tuesday afternoon, said he had received a revised set of signatures from 10 MPs signifying that Newlands MP-elect and former environment minister Wayne Panton commands the support of the majority of representatives for his appointment as premier.

In his statement, Roper said Panton presented a revised letter of support for his appointment as premier. “It also includes the signatures of 10 elected persons currently supporting Mr. Panton’s leadership of a new Government. Following the meeting, the Governor this afternoon issued a Proclamation for a meeting of Parliament tomorrow (Wednesday, 21 April) at 3p.m. in the Cayman Islands Gazette,” the statement indicates.

Roper said MPs will be sworn in at the meeting, with the swearing-in of a new Cabinet following immediately afterwards, on Fort Street, outside the House of Parliament.

Amid questions raised by the Progressives over the legality of that arrangement, Panton announced Tuesday that Irma Arch would be appointed as an outside Speaker for for the swearing in session. Arch, who was one of Prospect MP Sabrina Turner’s nominators, is the Managing Director of Miracle Brokers.

Panton Cabinet will include:

  • Premier – G. Wayne Panton, MP Elect, Newlands
  • Deputy Premier – Christopher Saunders, MP Elect, Bodden Town West
  • Minister – Kenneth V. Bryan, MP Elect, George Town Central
  • Minister – Sabrina Turner, MP Elect, Prospect
  • Minister – André M. Ebanks, MP Elect, West Bay South
  • Minister – Katherine Ebanks-Wilks, MP Elect, West Bay Central
  • Minister – Johany S. ‘Jay’ Ebanks, MP Elect, North Side
  • Minister – Bernie A. Bush, MP Elect, West Bay North 
  • Heather Bodden would serve as a parliamentary secretary.

Roy McTaggart is set to be Opposition Leader with his remaining team of Progressives and independent Dwayne Seymour still lined up together as far as we are aware at this point.

Today’s ceremonies will see the swearing-in of all ministers, the election of the speaker and the election of the Premier, by vote among the MPs.

Last modified onWednesday, 21 April 2021 20:03
  • Countries: Cayman_Islands