Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

Wiredja Online News Logo

WiredJa Online News

SURINAME | Bouterse loses elections in Paramaribo Constituency

  • Written by Calvin G Brown - wiredja.com
  • Published in Politics
Featured Chairman of the NDPO and President of Suriname loses the constituency of Paramaribo in Suriname Chairman of the NDPO and President of Suriname loses the constituency of Paramaribo in Suriname
PARAMARIBO, Suriname, June 4, 2020- NDP Chairman president Desi Bouterse has been defeated in the constituency of Paramaribo by VHP party leader Krishnakoemarie Mathoera who amassed 20,379 votes to Bouterse’s 15,545. In the 2015 elections, Bouterse got in excess of 34,000 votes.

The results of the elections were announced this afternoon during a public session at the Anthony Nesty Sports Hall, the site of the main polling station in Paramaribo.

VHP party leader Krishnakoemarie Mathoera

According to the main polling station,38,780 persons voted for VHP party leader Krishnakoemarie Mathoera; 29,495 voted for the NDP Chairman Desi Bouterse; 21,654 voted for the NPS and 11,644 for Abop.

While the other political parties have accepted the results, NDP representative Marcel Oostburg submitted an objection in writing on behalf of his party requesting a recount in Paramaribo.

The NDP alleges that a number of irregularities occurred on election day as well as during the processing of the official report afterwards in the sports hall.

According to the NDP, at the recount, there were discrepancies between the official count, the list of the political parties, and that of the supervisory authorities, some of which would be to the detriment of the NDP.

The main electoral committee will forward the objection to the central electoral committee.

VHP President and the man who is expected to become the next president of Suriname, Chandrikapersad Santokhi says he is seeking cooperation from NDP’s Chairman President Desi Bouterse to cooperate in electing the new president to the National Assembly (DNA).

Unofficially, the VHP porior to the Paramaribo declaration got 20 seats in the elections, while the NDP had only managed to get sixteen seats.

The VHP, Abop, NPS and PL, which are working to form a coalition government, have 33 seats together, but 34 votes are needed to elect the president and vice president in parliament.

According to Santokhi, it makes no sense to force a United People's Assembly (VVV) where 934 persons are entitled to vote, and a simple majority is required to elect the president and vice-president.

The VVV is made up of members of parliament, resort and district councils.

The VHP chairman tells DWTonline, that in the same manner the NDP approached his party in 2015 to have the new president directly elected to parliament because the NDP then had the majority in VVV, he expects the party of President Desi Bouterse to do the same.

 "The VHP alone  without adding the seats of Abop, NPS and PL has a majority in the Tourist Office," said Santokhi.

Last modified onThursday, 04 June 2020 22:03
  • Countries: Suriname